The government has announced that Kenyans will enjoy a free visa travel to the Caribbean country-Bahamas beginning in May.

Foreign Affairs Cabinet Secretary Alfred Mutua disclosed this after holding a bilateral talk with his counterpart Fred Mitchell on the sidelines of the ongoing Commonwealth meeting in the UK.

The meeting brings together Foreign affairs from the Commonwealth bloc. It comprises 56 countries working together for development, democracy and peace while voicing for small states and championing young people.

“It will increase and encourage trade and commercial relations between the two countries,” Mutua said in a statement.

The CS said he also appealed to the minister to consider recruiting Kenyans in the Bahamian seafarer sectors and related service industries, and the healthcare system. The two leaders also agreed to work together to ensure peace in Haiti.

“We agreed on the need for concerted peace efforts in Haiti, the eventual stability and prosperity of Haiti would not only be beneficial to her neighbors and the region, but would also be good for global peace and security,” he added.

Kenyan passport holders currently enjoy visa-free travel to various countries which include Burundi, Tanzania, Rwanda, Uganda among others.

The Visa-free regime to South Africa was announced on November 9, 2022, when South African President Cyril Ramaphosa held bilateral talks with his President William Ruto in Nairobi.

“The conclusion of the longstanding negotiations on the Visa exemptions further reflects conscious efforts and political goodwill by leaders of our two countries to eliminate any barriers to building greater business, cultural and communal relationships,” Kenya’s Ambassador to South Africa Catherine Mwangi said.